A little later the anti-Rana democratic struggle of the Nepalese people was carried forward by a number of organised political parties, the prominent among them being Nepal Congress (the party formed through mergery of Nepali National Congress and Nepali Democratic Congress), the Communist Party of Nepal, the Praja Panchayat and the Jaya Nepal League etc. and in all these movements the Newah leaders and workers have played exemplary role. In the work of establishing Nepali National Congress and Nepali Congress, Ganesh Man Singh, the Newah Firebrand Leader had undoubtedly a very important role. After the historic jail-break and escape from Nepal from the life imprisonment the Rana Government imposed on him in the Praja Parishad suppresion in 1941, he went to various parts of India and virtually dragged many noted Nepali figures staying in exile in India and forced them to form first Nepali National Congress and later unify it with Nepali Democratic Congress to form Nepali Congress. So too in establishing Nepali Democratic Congress, another Newah veteran politician Prem Bahadur Kansakar had an important role. He was the founder General Secretary of the party.

In the historic Satyagrah movement of 1948 a series of mass demonstrations were staged in Kathmandu, the capital city under the very nose of the Rana rulers and in it the chief organisers of the programmes included the Newah veteran politicians Prem Bahadur Kansakar, Sambhu Ram Shrestha, Bhuwan Lal Pradhan ,Vishnu Sundar Pradhan, Surya Bahadur Shrestha, Tanka Vilas Bajracharya and others.

The Praja Panchayat Party formed to test the sincerity of Rana Premier Padma Samsher who announced the 1948 Constitution declaring the establishment of rights of the people to form political parties and organise protest demonstrations was led by a Newah politician Tripurbar Singh (who later after the establishment of democracy became once General Secretary of Nepali Congress) and other important leaders included Newah leaders like Surya Bahadur Shrestha and Gopal Das Shrestha. Likewise in “Jay Nepal League” movement too the prominent leaders included Newah activists, Daman Raj Tuladhar and Tirtha Raj Tuladhar.

Please follow and like us:

July 14th, 2015

Our Supporters